If you purchased a home in 2018, you have until April 30, 2019, to file your Homestead Exemption. Under the state’s tax code, people only qualify for a Homestead Exemption on their primary residence.

Who Qualifies for a Homestead Exemption?
Any homeowner who files an exemption on their primary residence they were living in as of January 1st of the tax year that they are applying. There are special exceptions for anyone 65 years of age or older, as well as those who are disabled

All you need to file your Texas Homestead Exemption is an application from your county of residence, a photo ID, and proof of residence.

How to Apply
1. Fill out the application and file with your county of residence. If you are married, include information for both spouses. If you are 65 years old or older or disabled, make sure you follow the special instructions in the application. Below are links to local counties Homestead Exemption Application:
2. Include Proof of Residency Documents - For most Texans, your proof of residence is your driver's license. Your driver's license will need to be from the Texas Department of Public Safety. The address on the ID must match the homestead address.

Click on this link to view popular Homestead FAQ information:
https://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax/exemptions/residence-faq.php

Travis County offers a 20% homestead exemption, the maximum allowed by law. The Commissioners Court also offers an additional $85,500 exemption for homesteads of those 65 years and older or are disabled. The average Travis County taxable homestead value increased 7.12% from $305,173 last year to $326,894 this year. The proposed tax rate for the FY 2019 Budget of 35.42 ₵ per $100 of taxable value results in a estimated $31.77 annual increase in the County portion property taxes for the average taxable homestead. The estimated FY 2019 County property taxes for other valued homesteads shown below as examples are based on assessed values appreciating 10% from the previous year because that is the maximum allowed in Texas for properties with a homestead exemption. The FY 2019 tax rate was adopted on September 25, 2018. The actual impact for FY 2019 for each property will vary depending on the taxable value, types of exemptions and appreciation and the adopted tax rate.